People

Teaching and research staff

Professor Mark Fox - Head of LDSD Group

Phone: +44 114 222 4527
Room:
E14
Email:
mark.fox@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor Maurice Skolnick

Phone: +44 114 222 4277
Room: E20
Email:
m.skolnick@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor David Mowbray

Phone: +44 114 222 4561
Room:
E35
Email:
d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

Professor David Whittaker

Phone: +44 114 222 3537
Room:
E12b
Email:
d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

Professor Pieter Kok

Phone: +44 114 222 3538
Room:
E12a
Email:
p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor Dmitry Krizhanovskii

Phone: +44 114 222 4295
Room:
E16
Email:
d.krizhanovskii@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor Luke Wilson

Phone: +44 114 222 3532
Room:
E17
Email:
luke.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Research fellows

Dr Alistair Brash

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room:
E11
Email:
a.brash@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Dr Earl Campbell

Phone: +44 114 222 9820
Room:
E12
Email:
e.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Dr Evgeny Chekhovich

Phone: +44 114 222 4543
Room: F23
Email:
e.chekhovich@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Dr Yadong Wang

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
yadong.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nanomaterials, nanophotonics, ultrafast photonics.

Google Scholar

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr Fedor Benimetskiy

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email:
f.benimetskiy@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

Google Scholar

Dr Paul Bouteyre

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email:
p.bouteyre@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ORCiD

Dr Luke Brunswick

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
l.brunswick@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nano optics, photonic structures.

Dr René Dost

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room: E11
Email:
r.dost@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: III-V semiconductor nano fabrication.

Dr Daniel J Gillard

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
d.j.gillard@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

ORCiD

Dr Dominic Hallett

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
d.hallett@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum optics with semiconductor quantum dots.

ORCiD

Dr Xuerong Hu

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email:
xuerong.hu@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Dr Tommi Isoniemi

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email:
t.isoniemi@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Tommi joined the LDSD group in 2019, working on the design and fabrication of nanostructures for topological photonics.

Google Scholar l ORCiD

Dr Alexander Knight

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
alexander.knight@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

LDSD profile l Near-field Optical Imaging and Spectroscopy Centre

Dr Maxim Makhonin

Phone: +44 114 222 3522/65
Room: E13/D49
Email:
m.makhonin@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

University of Sheffield staff profile

Dr Marta Marchese

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email:
m.m.marchese@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ORCiD

Dr Catherine Phillips

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email:
c.l.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Coherent spectroscopy of quantum dots, ultrafast quantum optics, experimental realisations of quantum information processing, quantum optics using quantum dots emitting in the telecoms c-band.

ORCiD

Dr Samuel Sheldon

Phone: +44 114 222 3500
Room: E
13a
Email:
s.sheldon@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Ultra-fast quantum optics, quantum optical phenomena in semiconductor systems, coherent control of spins in semiconductor quantum dots, open quantum systems, phonon interactions, quantum technologies and communication.

Google Scholar l ORCiD

Dr Anton Velychko

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room: E11
Email:
anton.velychko@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Optical spectroscopy of low dimensional semiconductor structures: quantum wells, quantum wires and quantum dots.

Google Scholar

Dr Paul Walker

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email:
p.m.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nonlinear and quantum photonics in semiconductor devices and strong light-matter coupling.

LDSD profile l Google Scholar | ORCiD

Dr Panaiot Zotev

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
p.zotev@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

ORCiD

Administrative staff

Sally Greenhough

Phone: +44 114 222 4351
Room: E22
Email:
s.greenhough@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

PhD students

Elena Callus

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email:
ecallus1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ORCiD

Xuchao Chen

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E
46
Email:
xchen154@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nano optics, chiral quantum photonics, III-V semiconductor quantum dots.

Marius Cizauskas

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
mcizauskas1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Alice Cullen

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email:
arcullen1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Anthonin Delphan

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E
50
Email:
adelphan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Toby J Dowling

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email:
tdowling1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Polaritons in micropillar structures, topological insulators.

Google Scholar

Harry Dyte

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E
46
Email:
hedyte1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Anthony Ellul

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email:
aellul1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Exciton-polaritons in micropillar structures.

Luke Hallacy

Phone:
Room:
Email:
lmhallacy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:


Oscar Hutchings

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
omhutchings1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Charalambos Louca

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E
50
Email:
clouca1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Seth Lovett

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
slovett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Polaritons in micropillar structures.

ORCiD

Nicholas Martin

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email:
nmartin3@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Maxine McCarthy

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email:
mmmccarthy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Peter Millington-Hotze

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email:
pmillington-hotze1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Spin phenomena in semiconductor quantum dot.

ResearchGate

Alex Morris

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
ajmorris2@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum dot registration, directional coupling, multimode interferometry.

Christopher O’Rourke

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
corourke2@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Chiral quantum optics, quantum dots, nano-optics.

Armanda Quintavalle

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E
13a
Email:
aottavianoquintavalle1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum computing.

Google Scholar

Sam Randerson

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
sranderson1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ResearchGate

Zara Taylor

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email:
zstaylor1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Fabrication of low-dimensional materials for s-SNOM analysis.