People

Teaching and research staff

Professor Mark Fox - Head of LDSD Group

Phone: +44 114 222 4527
Room: E14
Email: mark.fox@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor Pieter Kok

Phone: +44 114 222 3538
Room: E12a
Email: p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor Dmitry Krizhanovskii

Phone: +44 114 222 4295
Room: E16
Email: d.krizhanovskii@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor David Mowbray

Phone: +44 114 222 4561
Room: E35
Email: d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

Professor Maurice Skolnick

Phone: +44 114 222 4277
Room: E20
Email: m.skolnick@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Professor David Whittaker

Phone: +44 114 222 3537
Room: E12b
Email: d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

Professor Luke Wilson

Phone: +44 114 222 3532
Room: E17
Email: luke.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar

Research fellows

Dr Alistair Brash

Phone: +44 114 222 4546
Room: F43
Email: a.brash@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile l Google Scholar 

Dr Yingkai Ouyang

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: F32
Email: y.ouyang@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum error correction, quantum metrology and quantum information theory

University of Sheffield staff profile I Personal website I Google Scholar

Dr Abdul Sattar (Visiting Research Fellow)

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: A.Sattar@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.


Dr Yadong Wang

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: yadong.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nanomaterials, nanophotonics, ultrafast photonics.

Google Scholar

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr Fedor Benimetskiy

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: f.benimetskiy@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

Google Scholar

Dr Paul Bouteyre

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: p.bouteyre@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ORCiD

Dr Luke Brunswick

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: l.brunswick@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nano optics, photonic structures.

Dr René Dost

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room: E11
Email: r.dost@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: III-V semiconductor nano fabrication.

Dr Savvas Germanis

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room: E11
Email: S.Germanis@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Physics in semiconductor Quantum Dots, optical and electronic properties of semiconductor quantum dots, experimental realisation of photonic devices based on excitons in confined systems.   

Google Scholar 

Dr Daniel J Gillard

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: d.j.gillard@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

ORCiD

Dr Dominic Hallett

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: d.hallett@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum optics with semiconductor quantum dots.

ORCiD

Dr Xuerong Hu

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: xuerong.hu@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Dr Tommi Isoniemi

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: t.isoniemi@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Polariton physics, nano-optics, design and fabrication of III-V semiconductor and 2D material devices.

Google Scholar l ORCiD

Dr Alexander Knight

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: alexander.knight@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 

LDSD profile l Near-field Optical Imaging and Spectroscopy Centre

Dr Seth Lovett

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: s.lovett@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Polaritons in micropillar structures.

ORCiD

Dr Maxim Makhonin

Phone: +44 114 222 3522/65
Room: E13/D49
Email: m.makhonin@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 

University of Sheffield staff profile 

Dr Subhrajit Modak

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email: s.modak@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 


Dr Catherine Phillips

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: c.l.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Coherent spectroscopy of quantum dots, ultrafast quantum optics, experimental realisations of quantum information processing, quantum optics using quantum dots emitting in the telecoms c-band.

ORCiD

Dr Anton Velychko

Phone: +44 114 222 3599
Room: E11
Email: a.velychko@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Optical spectroscopy of low dimensional semiconductor structures: quantum wells, quantum wires and quantum dots.

Google Scholar

Dr Paul Walker

Phone: +44 114 222 3522
Room: E13
Email: p.m.walker@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nonlinear and quantum photonics in semiconductor devices and strong light-matter coupling.

LDSD profile l Google Scholar | ORCiD

Dr Panaiot Zotev

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: p.zotev@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 2D materials.

ORCiD

Administrative staff

Sally Greenhough

Phone: +44 114 222 4351
Room: F10
Email: s.greenhough@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield staff profile

PhD students

Elena Callus

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email: ecallus1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ORCiD

Xuchao Chen

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: xchen154@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Nano optics, chiral quantum photonics, III-V semiconductor quantum dots. 

Timothy Chester Parsons

Phone:
Room: E50
Email: tchester-parsons1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Low dimensional Van der Waals materials for nanophotonic applications

Marius Cizauskas

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: mcizauskas1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Alice Cullen

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email: arcullen1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Anthonin Delphan

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: adelphan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Mateusz Duda

Phone:  +44 114 222 3550  
Room: E13a
Email: mduda1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum optics, quantum computing, quantum error correction, quantum information theory.

Harry Dyte

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: hedyte1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Anthony Ellul

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: aellul1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Exciton-polaritons in micropillar structures.

Aspen Fenzl

Phone:  +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: afenzl1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Waveguide quantum optics, open quantum systems, and chiral coupling.

Luke Hallacy

Phone:
Room:
Email: lmhallacy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 

Oscar Hutchings

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: omhutchings1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Ben Kinvig

Phone: +44 114 22 23550
Room: E13a
Email: bckinvig1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Topological Physics, Condensed Matter Physics.

Nicholas Martin

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: nmartin3@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Maxine McCarthy

Phone: +44 114 222 3550
Room: E13a
Email: mmmccarthy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

Peter Millington-Hotze

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: pmillington-hotze1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Spin phenomena in semiconductor quantum dot.

ResearchGate

Alex Morris

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: ajmorris2@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Quantum dot registration, directional coupling, multimode interferometry.

Oscar J Palma Chaundler

Phone:
Room: E50
Email: ojpalmachaundler1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 

Sam Randerson

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: sranderson1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests:

ResearchGate

Toby Rawlings

Phone:
Room:
Email: terawlings1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 


Monika Singh

Phone: +44 114 222 3527
Room: E46
Email: msingh8@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: 

Zara Taylor

Phone: +44 114 222 4569
Room: E50
Email: zstaylor1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: Fabrication of low-dimensional materials for s-SNOM analysis.